Live Your Life but be Prepared for Violence

Personal Defense Connection
2 min readDec 18, 2020

“…Don’t be afraid of them. Remember the Lord, who is great and awesome, and fight for your brothers, your sons and your daughters, your wives and your homes.” Nehemiah 4:14 NIV

When I read this verse in the past, I used to see it as simply telling me that I should protect my family.

However, I now believe it tells me much more.

In addition to protecting my family, it also tells me to prepare my mind for the violence that is in our own communities.

Nehemiah knew that rebuilding the walls of Jerusalem would anger the tribes/nations around the area. When the leaders of Judah expressed their concern for safety, Nehemiah set armed guards to protect the workers.

He also told them to keep the Lord in their thoughts to ease their fears. And so He will also give them courage to fight for what’s right.

Be Prepared for Possible Violent Situations

I personally believe that this verse tells us to not live in denial. Additionally, it tells us to realize that there are evil people in our communities.

It also tells us that we should prepare ourselves, physically and mentally, to handle possible violent situations as we go about our daily lives.

Note that Nehemiah did not tell them to just work on the walls and let God protect them.

Instead, he told them to get the right mindset of being responsible for their own safety by being prepared to fight while they worked on the walls.

Stay Safe…

~Dave

Join Personal Defense Connection on Tumblr

--

--

Personal Defense Connection

Self Defense, Threat Awareness, Defensive Mindset, Firearms. I want to help people learn how to be safer. It's that simple. (PDC is on Tumblr)